Categories
Buying Guides Tesla

Jeda USB Hub for Tesla Model 3 Review

Introduction

In this review of the Jeda USB Hub, I will take an in-depth look at this clever accessory for the Tesla Model 3. We’ll show you how it works, show you how to install it, and go over its major benefits.

The Jeda USB Hub is a great accessory for Tesla Model 3 owners because it adds additional connectivity to an otherwise lacking center console USB port. It’s simple. It adds a clean way to add more USB ports to your car.

Jeda USB Hub for Tesla Model 3
$79.00

The Tesla Model 3 USB Hub Designed For DashCam, Sentry Mode and More.

  • 6-in-1 USB Hub With Charging
  • Dashcam & Sentry Ready
  • Magnetic and Secure
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

Why didn’t Tesla offer its own solution for the lack of USB ports on the Tesla Model 3 or Model Y, or add more USB ports to the wireless charger they sell?

I think that’s because Sentry Mode and Dash Cam were later added in a software update, features that didn’t exist at first, and evidence of how Tesla does things differently by offering lots of new things via free software updates.

It was because a large number of drivers requested these features that Tesla incorporated these updates and also released them to existing owners. We don’t see that from other automakers.

Sentry Mode makes you feel just a bit safer about your car when it’s in public parking lots, and the dash cam makes it easy to record videos while driving.

Table of Contents

Specifications

Designed for Model 3’s made before June 2020 which feature two USB A ports

  • Input: 2x USB-A (Model 3s made before June 2020)
  • Output: 3x USB-A, 2x USB-C on the front face
  • 1 vertical USB-A port inside dashcam compartment
  • Magnetic lid
  • Includes a short USB-A to USB-C cable for an SSD
  • Magnetic mounting plate for SSD
  • Fits flush inside Tesla Model 3 center console area
  • Works with Jeda Wireless Pad and other wireless chargers
  • Price: $64 $79.00

Due to COVID-19, I was not so worried that the product would arrive at my front door more slowly than usual.

Factory USB Ports (Before JEDA)

Jeda USB Hub
Front USB-A Ports in 2019 Tesla Model 3

Excuse the dirty floor mats from South Dakota!

I would use the left port (pictured above) for my Sentry Cam storage and the right port to charge my Pixel Phone. I didn’t have any free front USB ports in my center console! Now there are two more USB-A ports which are located near the rear seats.

I have cleaned up my front console to be able to easily show the ports, but otherwise this area can become a kind of garbage dump where things just end up. There’s nothing here to help you organize your wallet, keys, game controller or wireless charging pad cables, etc. Although I love the Tesla Model 3 overall, this is definitely a lacking area and I’m grateful that Jeda has at least found a solution to clean up this console area with its product.

Meet the JEDA USB Hub for Tesla Model 3

Jeda USB Hub
JEDA USB Hub for Model 3

As you can see in the photo above, it has a really solid Tesla-like finish and is a high quality accessory for your Tesla Model 3 or Tesla Model Y.

JEDA has found an elegant solution to the problem of having only 2 front USB ports. The Jeda USB Hub is designed for Model 3 cars produced before June 2020.

There is another version for Model 3 cars produced after June 2020. All you need to do is connect the USB Hub to the two existing USB-A ports of your Model 3. Immediately, your 2 USB-A ports become a 6 in 1 USB power station, giving you 6 USB ports in the front and 2 in the rear.

Jeda USB Hub
JEDA USB Hub for Model 3

I appreciate the bright interior of the USB Hub because it makes it easier to see what you’re doing when it’s dark while working from the center console or dark in the car in general.

There are now 6 USB ports in the center console! 3 USB-A ports + 2 USB-C ports + 1 hidden USB-A port! 🙂

When assembling this hub, it felt well constructed and had a perfect fit. It was carefully aligned in the console and the connectors fit perfectly into the USB hub. The magnetic cover is easy to remove and reinstall. I recommend installing your USB stick, microSD reader or SSD drive before installing the kit in the car.

Now the USB stick is installed inside and while my Pixel is charging, we still have 2 USB-A + 2 USB-C ports left for other purposes.

JEDA USB Hub Installed

Jeda USB Hub
JEDA USB Hub for Model 3

If you intend to use a wireless charger with your new USB hub, I recommend installing the USB hub first, because it is a snug fit. Additionally, you should install your Sentry Mode USB drive or Jeda SSD inside your hub before you put everything in place.

In my experience, the hub continues to work well and the instructions are easy to follow.

Build Quality

The Jeda USB Hub is made of high-quality plastic. I don’t have any doubt about its longevity. If the device doesn’t move due to vibrations, I expect it to last for many years.

The Terminus FE1.1s is an USB 2.0 High Speed 4- port hub controller with special features to support GSMA “Universal Charging Solution”, (UCS). It is fully compliant to USB-IF “Universal Serial Bus Specification Revision 2.0” and “Battery Charging Specification Revision 1.1/1.2”.

Jeda uses a high-quality USB 2.0 high-speed 4-port hub controller, the TERMINUS FE 1.1S. This is one of the most energy-efficient USB hub controllers on the market. It ensures that everything you connect to the front of the Jeda Hub gets as much power from the Tesla as it can safely deliver, no matter which ports are occupied. It also manages the power across the ports, so you can connect and run your Tesla Sentry drive, music drive and gaming controller simultaneously.

All six USB ports are protected by WR1 electrostatic protection diodes, which prevent static discharge from flowing into either the Tesla ports or the connected devices. They all protect the circuits of the Jeda USB Hub from getting fried when you plug or unplug devices to the ports.

To keep the voltage and power flow stable through the circuit board, each port has its own J107 tantalum capacitor. Think of these each as tiny, uninterruptible power supplies that pick up a fluctuating voltage at one end and convert it into a constant voltage at the other.

All in all, these extra electronics serve to protect your Tesla Model 3 or Tesla Model Y, your devices and the Jeda Hub circuits themselves from voltage fluctuations.

Sometimes your device has a mind of its own. These capacitors ensure that all devices sharing the same circuit experience peak voltage that is consistent and fast.

The USB controller first feeds the most power-hungry devices, and then fills in with a steady, manageable output for the other less demanding peripherals.

Jeda Pricing Information

Designed for Tesla Model 3’s produced before June 2020.

NamePrice (USD)USA ShippingWorldwide Shipping
Hub for Model 3$64.00$10$28.00

Compatible with new Tesla Model 3’s made after June 2020*

NamePrice (USD)USA ShippingWorldwide Shipping
Hub for Model 3/Y$64.00$10$28.00

*Designed for the Tesla Model Y, and compatible with Tesla Model 3’s specifically produced during or after June 2020.

Jeda USB Hub for Model Y

The Jeda USB Hub is a must-have accessory that transforms your Tesla’s single USB ports into a docking station for both your cell phones and tablets. The Jeda USB Hub for Model Y or newer Model 3s works the same way, but connects to the USB-A and USB-C ports. You should expect the quality of the product to be equal to the unit I am reviewing.

Final Words

With this special setup I was able to charge two Google Pixel 3 phones wirelessly and connect my USB drive at the same time. As you can see, it was possible without a tangled nest of cables.

I recommend this product if you find that you regularly run out of USB ports, are looking for a way to protect your internal USB ports, or if you want to be able to connect a few gaming controllers without having to disconnect your Sentry Mode USB drive.

If you are using a wireless charging pad that requires both USB ports of your Tesla Model 3, I would say that the Jeda USB Hub is a no-brainer. It allows you to easily connect a variety of devices, and it keeps your SSD or USB stick neatly hidden until you are ready to access it.

I’m pretty sure you’ve seen some bad products over the years. Overpriced, poor quality and absolute junk. Well, this is not one of them. The Jeda USB Hub is a solid 5 star product. From the design to the materials from which it was made, it is really difficult to find anything negative about it. It is literally an all-in-one convenience that makes my life easier in a way I did not know was possible.

Jeda Wireless Pad V3 / Wireless Charger

Jeda also has its Wireless Pad V3 for Tesla Model 3 & Y, which provides fast wireless charging for every single phone model, as well as other improvements such as optimal wireless charging speeds of 7.5-15W, clearance for small and large phones, Qi charging for wireless headphones and much more. Learn more about the Wireless Pad V3.

JEDA Coupon Codes
(Click/Tap the buttons)

Save up to 10% Off $99+ on Jeda Product for Model 3:

Save up to 10% Off $99+ on Jeda Product for Model Y:

Learn More About the JEDA USB Hub

Let me know what you think. Have you used Jeda’s Hub? Or do you use another solution? Make sure you let me know what you think in the comments below.

By Graydon Schwartz

Find out more about Graydon on the About Me page.

3 replies on “Jeda USB Hub for Tesla Model 3 Review”

How can you honestly review such a terrible company? Go look at their BBB rating. They basically stole from me so please do not tell me how great their products are

Hi Jeff, do you have any alternative recommendations?

According to their BBB reviews, they have resolved most of the complaints so far.

In the case of an unresolved case over a month or more, I would take it up with them or your financial institution.

This is such a terrible company to review.

I had issue with the USB Hub Console and after few months of back & forth conversation, I received my replacement product. However, I still found that the Apple Watch Charger is not working. This is really frustrating and it has been 9 months (with back & forth email convo).

Here’s the summary:
– I ordered on December 2021 (Order #196207)
– Got the product in February 2022
– Found there were issues and sent it back immediately within a week
– Sent several emails about the replacement update and kept saying it’ll be shipped next week
– I was told I’ll get a $10 discount and extended warranty on the replacement product
– Got the replacement product in June 2020
– Still has issues with the Apple Watch Charger and pretty never used the product in my car

I know there are chip/hardware shortages but you can’t lie about the replacement product being updated or pre-tested. You have to send another replacement product asap else please return my money back.

I had heard good things about this product and was really excited to use it but this is really sad !

I hope this gives an overview of why no-one should buy anything from Jeda Products. You can also see their reviews and their stupid same replies “email us and we’ll get back to you”.
It’s a joke and I am so frustrated !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Share to...