Categories
Buying Guides Tesla

Jeda USB Hub for Tesla Model 3 Review (Save $25+ With Coupon)

Introduction

In this review of the Jeda USB Hub, I will take an in-depth look at this clever accessory for the Model 3. We’ll show you how it works, show you how to install it, and go over its major benefits.

The Jeda USB Hub is a great accessory for Model 3 owners because it adds additional connectivity to an otherwise lacking center console USB port. It’s simple. It adds a clean way to add more USB ports to your car.

Jan 27 Update: The JEDA USB Hub is on sale for $64 before any coupons!

Table of Contents

Why Tesla?

Tesla sells a wireless charger for the Tesla Model 3 and Model Y, but why didn’t they add more USB ports or offer its own solution for the lack of USB ports?

I think that’s because Sentry Mode and Dash Cam were later added in a software update, features that didn’t exist at first, and evidence of how Tesla does things differently by offering lots of new things via free software updates.

It was because a large number of drivers requested these features that Tesla incorporated these updates and also released them to existing owners. We don’t see that from other automakers.

Sentry Mode makes you feel just a bit safer about your car when it’s in public parking lots, and the dash cam makes it easy to record videos while driving.

Specifications

Designed for Model 3’s made before June 2020 which feature two USB A ports

  • Input: 2x USB-A (Model 3s made before June 2020)
  • Output: 3x USB-A, 2x USB-C on the front face
  • 1 vertical USB-A port inside dashcam compartment
  • Magnetic lid
  • Includes a short USB-A to USB-C cable for an SSD
  • Magnetic mounting plate for SSD
  • Fits flush inside Tesla Model 3 center console area
  • Works with Jeda Wireless Pad and other wireless chargers
  • Price: $64 $79.00

Due to COVID-19, I was not so worried that the product would arrive at my front door more slowly than usual.

Factory USB Ports (Before JEDA)

JEDA USB Hub for Model 3 Review
Front USB-A Ports in 2019 Tesla Model 3

Excuse the dirty floor mats from South Dakota!

I would use the left port (pictured above) for my Sentry Cam storage and the right port to charge my Pixel Phone. I didn’t have any free front USB ports in my center console! Now there are two more USB-A ports which are located near the rear seats.

I have cleaned up my front console to be able to easily show the ports, but otherwise this area can become a kind of garbage dump where things just end up. There’s nothing here to help you organize your wallet, keys, game controller or wireless charging cables, etc. Although I love the Tesla Model 3 overall, this is definitely a lacking area and I’m grateful that Jeda has at least found a solution to clean up this console area with its product.

Meet the JEDA USB Hub for Model 3

JEDA USB Hub for Model 3 Review
JEDA USB Hub for Model 3

As you can see in the photo above, it has a really solid Tesla-like finish and is a high quality accessory for your Tesla Model 3 or Tesla Model Y.

JEDA has found an elegant solution to the problem of having only 2 front USB ports. The Jeda USB Hub is designed for Model 3 cars produced before June 2020.

There is another version for Model 3 cars produced after June 2020. All you need to do is connect the USB Hub to the two existing USB-A ports of your Model 3. Immediately, your 2 USB-A ports become a 6 in 1 USB power station, giving you 6 USB ports in the front and 2 in the rear.

JEDA USB Hub for Model 3 Review
JEDA USB Hub for Model 3

I appreciate the bright interior of the USB Hub because it makes it easier to see what you’re doing when it’s dark while working from the center console or dark in the car in general.

Now there is a total of 6 USB ports in the center console! 3 USB-A Ports + 2 USB-C Ports + 1 Hidden USB-A Port! 🙂

When assembling this hub, it felt well constructed and had a perfect fit. It was carefully aligned in the console and the connectors fit perfectly into the USB hub. The magnetic cover is easy to remove and reinstall. I recommend installing your USB stick, microSD reader or SSD drive before installing the kit in the car.

Now the USB stick is installed inside and while my Pixel is charging, we still have 2 USB-A + 2 USB-C ports left for other purposes.

JEDA USB Hub Installed

JEDA USB Hub for Tesla Model 3 Review
JEDA USB Hub for Model 3

If you intend to use a wireless charger with your new USB hub, I recommend installing the USB hub first, because it is a snug fit. Additionally, you should install your Sentry Mode USB drive or Jeda SSD inside your hub before you put everything in place.

In my experience, the hub continues to work well and the instructions are easy to follow.

Build Quality

The Jeda USB Hub is made of high-quality plastic. I don’t have any doubt about its longevity. If the device doesn’t move due to vibrations, I expect it to last for many years.

The Terminus FE1.1s is an USB 2.0 High Speed 4- port hub controller with special features to support GSMA “Universal Charging Solution”, (UCS). It is fully compliant to USB-IF “Universal Serial Bus Specification Revision 2.0” and “Battery Charging Specification Revision 1.1/1.2”.

Jeda uses a high-quality USB 2.0 high-speed 4-port hub controller, the TERMINUS FE 1.1S. This is one of the most energy-efficient USB hub controllers on the market. It ensures that everything you connect to the front of the Jeda Hub gets as much power from the Tesla as it can safely deliver, no matter which ports are occupied. It also manages the power across the ports, so you can connect and run your Tesla Sentry drive, music drive and gaming controller simultaneously.

All six USB ports are protected by WR1 electrostatic protection diodes, which prevent static discharge from flowing into either the Tesla ports or the connected devices. They all protect the circuits of the Jeda USB Hub from getting fried when you plug or unplug devices to the ports.

To keep the voltage and power flow stable through the circuit board, each port has its own J107 tantalum capacitor. Think of these each as tiny, uninterruptible power supplies that pick up a fluctuating voltage at one end and convert it into a constant voltage at the other.

All in all, these extra electronics serve to protect your Tesla Model 3 or Tesla Model Y, your devices and the Jeda Hub circuits themselves from voltage fluctuations.

Sometimes your device has a mind of its own. These capacitors ensure that all devices sharing the same circuit experience peak voltage that is consistent and fast.

The USB controller first feeds the most power-hungry devices, and then fills in with a steady, manageable output for the other less demanding peripherals.

Jeda Pricing Information

Designed for Tesla Model 3’s produced before June 2020.

NamePrice (USD)USA ShippingWorldwide Shipping
Hub for Model 3$64.00$10$28.00

Compatible with new Tesla Model 3’s made after June 2020*

NamePrice (USD)USA ShippingWorldwide Shipping
Hub for Model 3/Y$64.00$10$28.00

*Designed for the Tesla Model Y, and compatible with Tesla Model 3’s specifically produced during or after June 2020.

Jeda USB Hub for Model Y

The Jeda USB Hub is a must-have accessory that transforms your Tesla’s single USB ports into a docking station for both your cell phones and tablets. The Jeda USB Hub for Model Y or newer Model 3s works the same way, but connects to the USB-A and USB-C ports. You should expect the quality of the product to be equal to the unit I am reviewing.

Final Words

With this special setup I was able to charge two Google Pixel 3 phones wirelessly and connect my USB drive at the same time. As you can see, it was possible without a tangled nest of cables.

I recommend this product if you find that you regularly run out of USB ports, are looking for a way to protect your internal USB ports, or if you want to be able to connect a few gaming controllers without having to disconnect your Sentry Mode USB drive.

If you are using a wireless charging pad that requires both USB ports of your Tesla Model 3, I would say that the Jeda USB Hub is a no-brainer. It allows you to easily connect a variety of devices, and it keeps your SSD or USB stick neatly hidden until you are ready to access it.

I’m pretty sure you’ve seen some bad products over the years. Overpriced, poor quality and absolute junk. Well, this is not one of them. The Jeda USB Hub is a solid 5 star product. From the design to the materials from which it was made, it is really difficult to find anything negative about it. It is literally an all-in-one convenience that makes my life easier in a way I did not know was possible.

Update from Jeda

The Jeda Wireless Pad V3 has been tested and confirmed to work perfectly with the new iPhone 12, and iPhone 12 pro. We will be testing the iPhone 12 mini and magsafe cases early next week to confirm compatibility. Charge your iPhone 12 in your Tesla using Jeda’s wireless charger and get wireless landscape and portrait charging, as well as wired charging.

Jeda Wireless Pad V3

Jeda also has its Wireless Pad V3 for Tesla Model 3 & Y, which provides fast charging for every single phone model, as well as other improvements such as optimal charging speeds of 7.5-15W, clearance for small and large phones, Qi charging for wireless headphones and much more. Learn more about the Wireless Pad V3.

JEDA Coupon Codes
(Click/Tap the buttons)

Save $10 to $15 on the Jeda USB AND/OR Wireless Pad V3:

Save $10 on Jeda Product for Model Y:

Learn More About the JEDA USB Hub

What do you think? Did you use Jeda’s Hub? Or do you use another solution? Let me know your thoughts and opinions in the comments below.

Special Thanks

TESMAT at Tesla Supercharger

TESMAT

TESMAT could be the right mattress for your next Supercharger nap, car camping trip, or the perfect gift for your favorite Tesla Model 3/Y owner. You can use my coupon code to save on your purchase.

Learn more:

luminar ai logo for light backgrounds | graydonschwartz.com

Luminar AI

Use the button below and feel free to use the discount code (GRAYDON) to give yourself a 10% discount at checkout on Luminar:

I may earn a small commission for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonials and / or links to products or services linked above. Your purchase supports me in bringing you more photographs, travel guides, and more trips around the world.

By Graydon Schwartz

Find out more about Graydon on the About Me page.